I got email today from somebody claiming to be Jim Mirkalami threatening legal action. I say “claiming to be” because the last person claiming to be Jim, later claimed that they were his brother Bryan or Seyed B. Mirkalami and claimed that Jim “does not know what is going on on the net, he is not an internet savey[sic] type person.”
The original of the Bryan or Seyed B. Mirkalami post may have been taken down by quityourdayjob.com.au, so you might have to look to a cache.
Anyway, here is the email in full. Unless somebody can point me to a law making it an offense to publish a name without authorization I am not going to lose sleep over it. I have looked back and my post on Jim Mirkalami does not seem defamatory.
Subject: Un-authorized publication of my name
Mr. Welling
My name is Jim Mirkalami and it has come to my attention that my name has been published within your website/s and blogs, without my authorization.
I hereby request from you to immediately remove any and all references made to this name and refrain from such publications in the future without my authorization.
Your immediate attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.
I will have no option but to commence legal action in an effort to protect my name, if my request is denied. I will be doing so a week today on Monday
April 7th, 2008.Thank you
Jim Mirkalami
The charge is that you *wrote his name*? And he’s gonna hit you with legals because of it? Even if this is just lazy/bad English usage, I say “Balls to that”. Any legal case would depend on some kind of defamation having happened. Just mentioning someone’s name is not an offence.
I have a followup. The exact complaint is “Un-authorized[sic] publication of my personal name (un-konwingly[sic] at first knowingley[sic] and willingly after) cuasing[sic] seriouse[sic] damage to my reputation”.
Now, I am not an expert on Canadian law, but …
Hi Luke, yes all material has been removed from my site as I just don’t have the energy to deal with him.
That’s especially amusing since, by making those comments, he put his name on your site.
Hi, what blog platform is this? Is it working for you or..? I would really love it if you could answer this question! Thanks!